The Perfect Sofa (for us anyway)

I made a bold claim yesterday on instagram – I said I’d write about our sofa and so I think I better had.

When we were on the hunt for a sofa part of me wanted summit vintage – a bit midcentury mods and to give it a reupholster. Howevs, I couldn’t find anything I loved and loving your sofa is very important.

We hunted around and sofas are soooo expensive and hardly any are really comfy. Jules had his requirements – he had to be able to lie flat on it, he’s 6’2″ and it had to be comfortable. My requirements were comfort and style. It had to be pretty. Going against what I thought was my better judgement we popped into the perpetual sale at DFS. Yes, DFS. I know what you’re thinking, you’re picturing the multicoloured monstrosities in their adverts but I promise you, they have some really lovely styles and they’re made in the UK. I love stuff that’s made here, it makes me happy.

Admittedly, a lot of the sofas are just eye achingly hid but then, then they have some gems. Ladies and gents I give you our sofa – Poet.

FullSizeRender (1)

I really need to start using our camera, instead of my phone, to take pictures. I mean, the sofa is a silver grey but it’s come out kinda yellow in this pic. Anyhoos. This little beauty is a 4 seater and sooooper deep, like, two people can lie side-by-side; Jules can lie flat on it, easily. The material is so soft and loverly and it has buckets of mid centro style. The best part is that it was, of course, on sale. It’s made in the UK (as I mentioned before) and we paid extra for the special wipey off coating. And I’ll tell you something I never told Jules: when we unwrapped it, after it had been living in the devastation that was the renovation, there was a splodge of paint. It was our greatest fear and I was too scared to tell Jules because he loves our sofa and it would have broken his heart. So, I grabbed a wet sponge and IT CAME OFF. WITH WATER. Get the coating, it’s like, insured against spills and rips for 10 years or so. So worth it, especially if you have the children.

FullSizeRenderJust notices our Dyson in the corner of this shot *sigh*. I should have resolved to take better photos for the blog. But I didn’t. Tough luck people.

I’m very sorry to say that they don’t seem to ‘do’ a Poet sofa anymore, so I’ve picked out a couple of other lovelies.

flint_3s_flint_dustyblue_view1

Now this Flint sofa, for a time, I silently wept over because I thought I’d made a mistake and I should have bought it instead of the Poet. Howevs, when we put our living room together our sofa works so much better than Flint would have and I am very happy with it. I have sat on the Flint sofa and it does defo pass the comfort test (my comfort standards are high). It’s part of a range designed by French Connection, hence its beauty.

chalk_5s_newchalk_whitecombination_view1I’m really into neautrals at the moment, which is weird seeing as the entire colour spectrum has exploded into our flat, so this sofa really appeals to me right now. Chalk is also a French Connection design and it’s super versatile. Part of me wants it, part of me remembers we’re now broke and there’s only room for one sofa in our lives.

So yeah, DFS, makes good sofas, stylish ones too. Who’d have thunk it? Not me, that’s for sure. I had the serious doubtsies. Honestly, our sofa is amazing, literally every time we sit on it we heap it with praise. It’s a good thing we don’t have children considering the amount of applaud we offer up to inanimate objects – them kids would have such an over-inflated sense of self.

As usual, no one is paying me for these fine words.

Note: Jules came home after reading this post and the first thing he said was “there was PAINT on the sofa?!” Sometimes I worry he loves it too much.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Sofa (for us anyway)

Leave a comment